clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sonics Bruising: The Champions

The Frozen Envelope pulled away from Team Meirose to win the inaugural SBL championship.

Edited by Tiffany Villigan

Finals MVP Derrick Favors
Finals MVP Derrick Favors
Russ Isabella-US PRESSWIRE

The fact that I'm writing this article a couple weeks after the championship was decided has nothing at all to do with the fact that my team didn't win the SBL title.

Ok. Maybe it has everything to do with it. But enough about me.

All hail the first ever champions of the Sonics Bruising League, the Frozen Envelope. In their final showdown with Team Meirose, the Frozen Ones did what they did all season. They scored and scored and scored some more to pull away for a 1916-1569.5 victory.

The Envelope finished with an 18-1 record, while Meirose finished 14-5.

Derrick Favors led the new champs with 268.5 fantasy points on the strength of 43 rebounds, 8 steals, 9 blocks, 14 fouls, and 52 scoring points. Gorgui Dieng followed with 232.5 fantasy points on 52 rebounds, 12 fouls, and 45 scoring points.

Carmelo Anthony led Meirose with 30 rebounds and 105 scoring points to garner 22.5 fantasy points.

While Favors certainly earned the Finals MVP for the Envelope, Serge Ibaka was the team's best player all season long. On the strength of 8.6 rebounds a game, Ibaka averaged 59.1 fantasy points an outing.

The fact that Ibaka was only the league's 7th leading scorer tells you everything you need to know about the Frozen Envelope. They didn't win with a couple of super stars. They won all season long with balanced scoring and a total team effort.

DeAndre Jordan (Paul Rogers) became the SBL's first ever MVP with 5786.5 scoring points. He did so with game averages of 13.7 rebounds, 2.5 blocks, and 10.5 points.


"Dang. Wish I could've played for the Frozen Envelope" ~ Dennis Rodman